#TheBabs2015: A Wedding and Christening Celebration

image

The Fox and The Rose
When Mario and I first started going out, I gave him The Little Prince to read. It’s my favorite book in the whole world, and it was my dad’s copy, so my lending it to him was kind of a big deal. Two weeks after, he finally gave it back to me. We were in a van terminal then, and I asked him how it was. Now see, I am a judgmental person (just wanted to get this out in the open he he), so I wasn’t expecting him to appreciate, let alone read the book, especially because that particular one is “childish” in nature. Plus the fact that he’s this big, gruff guy who wasn’t a reader (it’s the first book that he read from front to back, that wasn’t a requirement at school). But he surprised me by not only finishing it, but by also sharing with me his favorite part, and it’s this:

My rose, all on her own, is more important than all of you together, since she’s the one I’ve watered. Since she’s the one I put under glass, since she’s the one I sheltered behind the screen. Since she’s the one for whom I killed the caterpillars (except the two or three butterflies). Since she’s the one I listened to when she complained, or when she boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing at all. Since she’s my rose.

When he finally finished explaining why it’s his favorite part (as if I’m a teacher asking for a book report :p), I was a bit teary eyed. It wasn’t my intent to test him, but looking back, this was the clincher, the trigger for something to start between us.

Most of y’all readers know that we first had Sanji, our son, before getting married and it definitely wasn’t easy because of my traditional family (hello imposing #LolasOfManila). #TheBabs2015 is not just a series of ceremonies but a celebration of what we’ve been through and what we’ve become as a family.

Welcome to our little family’s little milestone.

Prior to April 11th, we had a week to prepare and finalize the wedding details — caterer, sound system, reception decors, guest books, etc. I can say that it was the busiest and most stressful week of life so far. So stressful, that when I went out to meet our caterer, I had my shirt inside out, and I didn’t even realize it until after going home. It was that stressful. That being said, it was also the most fun that we’ve had since we had Sanji.

image

The Wednesday before the wedding, after my two best friends and I finished making the table numbers, I went up to take a shower and then met with them at our TV room after. They were weirdly quiet and then Mario bursted out “Ang slow talaga!” And when I looked up, Mimay and Kux were holding this sign that says “Pao’s Bridal Tea Party”. I was extremely touched because no one has ever surprised me like that. *creys*

image

The day was, for me, just like any other day. Except that I didn’t give Sanji a bath because I had to be made up at 6 AM. The picture above is one of my favorites because it captured the essence of that day. Yes, a wedding is whimsical and fairytale-like, but Sanji made everything real (hello baby bottles), just as it’s supposed to be.

image

We got married at San Antonio de Padua Parish, Los Banos, Laguna, Phillipines. If you’re from that area, chances are, you’ve passed by this church because it’s right smack in front of Robinson’s.

I won’t go much into the details of what happened at church because 1) it seemed like I was in a trance the whole time because I can’t believe that it’s finally happening and 2) it’s pretty much your standard Filipino church wedding, which I’m pretty sure you all know by now.

image

image

The only odd thing about our wedding is that we squeezed in Sanji’s christening right after it. It was pretty funny, actually. There we were, ready for the family pictures to be taken, but then the priest and all the other baptisees marched into the church. So we all rushed to the baptistry, in our wedding getup, and had Sanji christened. Then we went back to the picture taking like nothing happened.

image
image

image

image

We didn’t have a proper photographer, but Mario’s brother volunteered to be the psuedo-official photographer. I did the editing in a free trial Lightroom, un voila!

Another funny thing is that no one seemed to capture our wedding kiss. They had us kiss four times, but still no one managed to get a shot. The closest we have is this:
image

— which kuya attempted to shoot after everyone had gone to the reception.

image

image

image

The reception was held at a private resort in Lalakay Los Banos, Laguna, Philippines. When we arrived there, we were slightly awakened from our trance because of the heat (it was twelve noon on a summer day, go figure). We weren’t able to eat well because we were observing everyone else — the people fanning themselves, the waiters, the decors, etc. It’s true, what other married people say that you really won’t be able to eat at your wedding — it doesn’t matter if you’re stressed or not — eating wasn’t really possible. Maybe it’s the adrenaline or something? Well for me, it’s the excitement of it all, plus I’m wearing a corset-ish dress.

After everyone has eaten, we went on the usual wedding programme: cake slicing, wine toasting and speeches, and the dollar dance. Oh how we loved the dollar dance! When I was single (and heartbroken), I vowed that I would slow dance with the love of my life, if (which turned to a happy when) I ever find him, to Look After You by the Fray. And I did *heart eyes* Speaking of songs, here’s a link to #TheBabs playlist which contains all the songs that were played during the reception. Each song was handpicked by Mario and me.

ANYWAY, back to the reception. After the dollar dance, we simply thanked our guests for travelling all the way to the little town of Los Banos, enduring the heat, and joining our celebration. It was the end of the structured event. The drinks came flowing after, plus the guests went crazy over the photobooth we’ve set up.

As soon as we changed into our more comfortable outfits, we looked at each other and just happily breathed out sighs of relief: “It’s over. On to the start of a new chapter.”

Well… that’s it for the main event! I hope you enjoyed reading through it. πŸ™‚

Up next: Suppliers (cake, catering service, reception venue, floral arrangements, hair and makeup) and DIY tutorials (date jar guestbook, bouttonnieres, floral topiaries for flower girls, table numbers, and wedding souvenir)

8 thoughts on “#TheBabs2015: A Wedding and Christening Celebration

  1. Pingback: Make: #TheBabs2015 Wedding Motifs | Craft Geek Escapist

  2. Pingback: Make: #TheBabs2015 Wedding Motifs | Escape Artist

Leave a Reply

