30-Day Shopping Ban

image

Yes, I’m joining Helga with this movement! This morning, I was going through my makeup drawer, which was one-fifth of a set of drawers, and I noticed that most of the contents of that set were hoarded items — creams, lipsticks, lip balms, yarns, crochet books, knitting needles and two sets of crochet hooks (two!). And when I looked around our room, most of the books were mine AND were still UNOPENED. If that wasn’t a sign to do some form of an intervention, I don’t know what that is.

I don’t think I have to expound on my problem (plus I might chicken out if I prolong the intro), so here are the rules:

What I can shop for:

  • food and groceries
  • toiletries
  • skin care (i.e. when I run out of moisturizer, which I doubt because I still have an extra pot of Olay)
  • essential makeup (i.e. when I run out of BB cream, which I doubt I will, because I still have five squeeze bottles of it)
  • Sanji’s clothes (only when he outgrows the ones that he has now, and I just shopped for new shorts and jammies)
  • Sanji’s high chair and walker
  • takeaway coffee, but only once per week
  • shoes (i.e when my brown pointed Charles and Keith ones finally fall apart)

What I cannot shop for:

  • new makeup (i.e. yet another lip balm or that teal eyeliner from Eye of Horus, or that liquid lipstick from Ofra in New Orleans shade good Lord, help meee)
  • face masks, wax strips, scrubs, underarm whitening stuff (because I have enough supply to last me two months)
  • clothes (mainly because we’ve maxed out on our closet space)
  • junk food (like that cheese flavored french fries thingy in a tub, or Chef Tony’s popcorn)
  • Sample Room stuff (I still have 490++ points), because if even if they only cost me PhP 100 for delivery, they’re still extra stuff that were “bought” because they’re “free”
  • books, notebooks and pens
  • VSCO filters (do I really need another one?)
  • yarns, crochet and knitting accessories etc (except when an order comes in)
  • new toys for Sanji (he has two boxes full of ’em and he doesn’t even play with those — he just likes his touchy feely book and rolling around his play pen)
  • eyeglasses (I already have two and I only have one set of eyes)

Additional rules:

  • I can’t use my credit card (Mario already has my card but I’ve got the number and security thing memorized. Yes, I’m THAT sneaky). So I have to work a way around my memory, kind of jumble it up a bit.
  • I can only spend half of my allowance.
  • I can add to the second list anytime.
  • Extension of the ban depends on my one month performance.

That’s it! I know I can do it because I already have my needs, but I’m kind of terrified at how I’ll handle my “bad” days without shopping.

Maybe this exercise can target two birds? We’ll see!

8 thoughts on “30-Day Shopping Ban

    • You can do it! Don’t be so hard on yourself πŸ™‚ I think of this as a practice on appreciati g what i have rather than always looking outward πŸ™‚

      • Will definitely push myself not to spend on anything I don’t need the next few months. I know I have more than enough, pero yung urges talaga to buy when stressed!!! I can do this! We can dot this! πŸ™‚

  1. Hahaha I also have my credit card details memorized.

    I ran out of brown eyeliner but I figured I could use an old pot of black gel liner that I have. I’m really hoping my tube of Ofra in Laguna Beach doesn’t run out because it’s all I’ve been wearing lately. :((((

    GOOD LUCK TO US!

  2. Pingback: 30-Day Shopping Ban | lunameetsworld

  3. Pingback: 30-Day Shopping Ban Update | Craft Geek Escapist

Leave a Reply

