Makeup Stash: Myra Vitaglow BB Cream

imageMakeup Stash is a beauty tag series that attempts to review various makeup items via full makeup routine demonstration and swatches.

In order to justify the ridiculous amount of BB creams that I have, I think I need to roll out a review of some sorts. I currently have five BB creams, four are from unique brands and I’ve accumulated them over a span of (only) two months.

I do rotate them almost every week, but sometimes it’s a hassle to be forced to use some items that are very hard to deal with. Case in point, the Myra Vitaglow BB Cream.

When I first found this, I thought that I struck gold. Most double-lettered creams are priced from PhP 300 up to about PhP 800. Imagine my thrill when I swatched the cream on my arm and found that it has an okay consistency. And then imagine my disappointment when I wore it and realized that it’s not for me.

Now, I’m not saying that it’s less than workable because it’s cheap. I’m saying that sometimes, I get blinded by how cheap a beauty product is, so I force for it to work.

image

I believe that it has two shades: beige and ivory. I purchased the beige because ivory is too light and too cool for me.

image

image

Now here comes the boo-boo part: the shade beige is a bit dark for me. I know that I can mix it with something to make it perfectly match my skin tone, but that kind of defeats the point of BB creams. In my opinion, BB’s are supposed to be that easy-peasy lightweight creams that you can put on when you don’t have time for a full face, but still want to look presentable.

It makes my skin darker AND oilier AND enhances my pores. Oh, the horror. Just because the product is supposed to give you a glow doesn’t mean it should make you look like the grease master.

image

image

So here’s how I make this stuff work for me: I top it off with pressed powder to somehow mattify it and conceal my pores. And then added bronzers and highlighters to appropriate areas. For this session, I kept it simple with just a black eyeliner, a dark rose cream blush, and purple matte lips.

image

image

And this is how it looks with full natural light. I think I look okay — better than without the powder — but my face isn’t as polished as I want it to be.

Would I purchase this again? Nope. Would I recommend it to anyone else? Well, maybe for people who have dry to normal skin. It only has SPF 15 so I won’t recommend using it without prior application of sunscreen.

Price: PhP 99 for a 20ml tube
Where to buy: Mercury drugstore, Watson’s, most department stores in the Philippines
Rating: 2.5/5
Purge or keep:
Definitely a purge. Might give this to a friend because both of my sisters also have oily skin.
Verdict: There are better-priced BB creams in the market that can give you your money’s worth. And this is not it.

Products used:
Myra Vitaglow BB Cream in Beige
Maybelline White Superfresh Powder Foundation in Nude Beige
Suesh corrector and concealer pots in green, red, and yellow
Etude House Drawing Eye Brow in Dark Brown
In2It Gel Autoliner in Black
Revlon Cream Blush in Charmed Enchantment
Naked countouring palette
Nyx Matte Lipstick in Aria

Leave a Reply

