My Lipstick Arsenal: L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss

image

I mentioned in my last lipstick arsenal post that I didn’t have any mattes in my collection yet. Well guess what? Between that and this, I managed to grow my mattes from zero to five! Two of those are Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cremes, which already have numerous reviews because they came out about three or four years ago. I have one of each of Nyx Matte Lipstick and BYS Matte Lipstick. And then I have this, L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss — a liquid lipstick that I both love and hate.

First off, I don’t know why it’s called a “pigment gloss” because it’s not glossy at all. It’s super matte — as dry as a bone. It’s described as blurring the lines between lipstick and lip gloss, Matte Pigment Gloss has already become a favorite of makeup artists, blogger and fans. These 16 bold shades provide rich, intense color in a flat finish for all day wear. The long wearing formula goes on as a high pigmented liquid and dries to a flat matte finish. Leaving lips colored in gorgeous velvety perfection that last and lasts.

image

Image from enticebeauty.com

I can’t exactly remember where I heard of this product, but I was sure that when I saw its shade range, I instantly wanted to get them all. Of course I didn’t buy them all; I researched a lot before narrowing down to four shades — Timeless, Instinct, Black Currant and Fleur (a late-minute addition after realizing the lack of nudes in my arsenal, I haven’t bought this yet though). I ordered the shades separately on online stores because I didn’t want to put all my eggs in one basket.

image

image

The packaging is very sturdy and sleek. At first you’d think that you got more product compared to other liquid lipsticks (i.e. Nyx SMLC), but that’s just the tricky,  clever packaging. It’s your standard 0.17 fl. oz. It has a doe foot applicator, which I love because it allows me to really get into the corners of my lips.

image

The first shade that I received is Timeless, and it’s all I have on hand right now — the two others are ETAd at mid-September. Timeless is very different from its poster swatch. On the poster above, it seemed to be a little bit darker, but swatched, it comes off as a bright rose. When freshly applied, the gloss has an even texture. It also only took one swipe to achieve this color.

image

image

As it dries up, however, you can see that it starts to get streaky. It is bone-dry, and can definitely accentuate the lines and flakes on your lips, so I recommend that you exfoliate and moisturize before putting this on.

The gloss stains, and it’s kiss-proof and transfer-proof (two of the reasons why I love this) so I get to kiss Sanji without putting lipstick on his cheeks. But when you eat, that’s when this starts to get tricky. See, it settles on the outer lines of my lips, making it look like I have lip liner on. It also separates on my lips, when I drink or eat. This is also VERY hard to take off. I usually just use my Tony Moly makeup wipes and that does the trick, but not for this lipstick. Best to use an oil-based remover to make this budge.

image

And this is how it looks on me. Do you get why I love and hate this? The color is beautiful, but the formula is a boo-boo. I have yet to find out something to make this work better.

Price: PhP 250 at Kering Keri Store, PhP 165 at Makeup Inbox PH
Where to buy: I ordered mine at Kering Keri Store and Makeup Inbox PH, but I’m sure most online stores have these now
Rating: 3.5 / 5
Purge or keep: Keep. Weird as it sounds, I love how bone-dry it is.
Verdict: A long-wearing, kiss- and transfer-proof matte liquid lipstick with excellent color payoff, but less than stellar formula.

Products used:

Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation in True Beige
Suesh corrector and concealer pots in green, red, and yellow
Etude House Drawing Eye Brow in #2 Grey Brown
Naked contouring palette
In2It Gel Autoliner in Black
L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss in Timeless

6 thoughts on “My Lipstick Arsenal: L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss

  1. IT HURTS MY LIPS. Both LA Girl and LA Splash are so matte that they hurt haha. Also super hard to apply perfectly! I need to practice. 😦

    Timeless looks good on you!

  2. Pingback: Makeup Stash: Tony Moly Blast Fresh Cleansing Tissue | Craft Geek Escapist

  3. Pingback: Makeup Stash: Tony Moly Blast Fresh Cleansing Tissue | Escape Artist

Leave a Reply

