Road-Testing the Sacred Heart Diet

Image from pixabay.com

Image from pixabay.com

I am a pear — big hips and thighs, small waist and bust. When I was younger, I used to really hate my body, and in a world where the skinny is favoured, how can one not detest curviness? I’ve eventually come past body issues — I eat what I want, when I want it, and not let anyone shame me for the shape that I’m in. But it’s not to say that I don’t maintain a certain weight, not for vanity (okay, maybe a little), but mainly for health.

My weight used to usually play around 52 kg to 55 kg before I gave birth, and at 5’6″, I was within normal body proportions. But as Sanji grows up, and as work becomes more stressful than ever, I found myself constantly reaching for that cookie and that soda and that bag of chips, and sometimes after a really challenging day, I eat a heavy meal right before bedtime. These habits not only make me sick (like throwing up because I’m too full sick), but it also lessens my mobility. I am now 62kg — the heaviest that I have ever been.

It’s time to eat healthy. And with that goal, I want to start disciplining myself, kind of a preparatory diet, with the help of the Sacred Heart Diet. And I’m happy to report that my mom and younger sister will be joining me in this mini #BalikKalusuganAtAlindog project.

I have known about this “routine” since I was in college because my mom used to go into this whenever she has an annual physical examination, and usually before she starts to eat healthy again. The Sacred Heart Diet has many, many names like “The Cabbage Diet”, “The Cleveland Clinic Diet” and “The Miami Heart Institute Diet”, among others. It was said to be used for overweight patients for rapid weight loss prior to a surgery. What it claims is that if you don’t cheat on the meal plan, you can lose 10 to 17 pounds at the end of seven days.

There are a lot of controversy that surrounds this diet, but I’m trying this out because it worked for my mom. I’m also personally not after losing all that weight. What I want is to 1) detoxify and 2) discipline my body to eat healthy.

The meal plan:
  • Day One – Any fruit except bananas.
  • Day Two  – All vegetables – raw, canned or steamed, as long as it’s not fried. For dinner, eat a baked potato with butter.
  • Day Three – Fruits and vegetables but no baked potatoes.
  • Day Four – Bananas and skim milk only. Eat at least 3 bananas and drink as much milk as you can today, along with the soup. Bananas are high in calories and carbohydrates, as is the milk but on this particular day, your body will need the potassium and carbs. Proteins and calcium to lessen the cravings for sweets.
  • Day Five – Beef and tomatoes: you may have 10 to 20 ounces of beef and a can of tomatoes, or as many as 6 tomatoes on this day.
  • Day Six – Beef and veggies, eat to your heart’s content of the beef and veggies today. You can even have 2-3 steaks if you like with green leafy veggies but no baked potato.
  • Day Seven – Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice and veggies.
Allowed drinks:
  • Unsweetened juices
  • Black coffee
  • Tea
  • Skim milk
  • Lots of water

Some versions of this diet includes a vegetable soup of some sort. But we’re not going to make that soup.

I believe there’s a scientific explanation as with why days 1, 2 and 3 should be fruits and vegetables only — I think it has something to do with modifying the alkaline level of your body. And then the potassium from all the bananas will counteract the alkalinity. I can’t find my mom’s document on that, but when I do, I’ll update this post.

We’re planning to start tomorrow (because it’s my sister’s birthday today he he), and I plan on making a food diary of sorts while I’m on this. I’m initially worried about how I’ll be able to handle this meal plan while working, and how I’ll fare when stress strikes.

I’ll get back to you on the results and my final thoughts on this diet after seven days, which will be on Tuesday next week. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

