Makeup Stash: Tony Moly Blast Fresh Cleansing Tissue

imageMakeup Stash is a beauty tag series that attempts to review various makeup items via full makeup routine demonstration and swatches.

Finding a makeup cleansing wipe that works is like finding good household help. When you’re too tired to clean out the dishes, they’re there to help you. Just as well, when you’re too tired, and can’t be bothered to use your micellar water or your oils, you can depend on this cleansing tissue.

I used to bank on my Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes in the Night Calming variant. But then I couldn’t find it anywhere locally, and S&R only sells it by, like, the really large package with 1000 sheets in it. I can’t commit to a package that large, so I went on my search for my new holy grail makeup wipes.  This is the fourth cleansing tissue since my search began, and after being disappointed pack after pack (after pack, after pack…), my expectations were lowered. And this is a nice surprise because it made me believe in love, err, finding quality, locally-available makeup wipes again.

wpid-2015-09-05-09.40.14-1.jpg.jpeg

Being that the majority of the text in this box is in Korean, I can’t really tell what it claims. But on Tony Moly’s website, it says that [it has] baking powder ingredient that removes makeup and dead skin thoroughly, and [it can provide] rich nutrition with five kinds of natural oil.

It’s a water-typed facial cleansing tissue, which I like, because I don’t like the icky feeling that other wipes leave on my already oily skin. I remember having that experience with the Neutrogena towelettes, and it makes me happy to realize that this product exceeds that. It’s also nice to note that this does not sting at all — I can really get into my eyes without tearing up.

wpid-2015-09-05-09.40.12-1.jpg.jpeg

The sheet is not flimsy, and it’s size is enough to cover my whole face. It’s a bit thicker than most baby wipes, and it doesn’t get stringy when ridden with makeup. It has a very mild scent, I can’t quite figure what that smell is, but it smells really clean. Like, when I wipe with this, I feel refreshed — that kind of clean.

I love the packaging because the plastic lid, that clicks when shut, keeps the wipes from drying up. The whole plastic container is quite sturdy — I have experienced some wipes that have their packaging split open.

wpid-2015-09-05-12.48.11-1.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-09-05-12.48.10-1.jpg.jpeg

To show you how effective this is, I’ve put on makeup and wiped half of my face to show you how much it can take off. This is the usual full makeup for when I go to work: liquid foundation, powder foundation under the eyes and on the t-zone, contour and highlight powders, nude eyeshadows, drawn in eyebrows, black waterproof eyeliner, black mascara and a matte red lipstick.

Notice that the wipes didn’t just smudge my mascara and waterproof eyeliner — it literally blasted them, like they never happened, without making me look like a Panda. It also removed my matte lipstick easily, without having me scrub off my lips. A side note though: I did have a hard time with removing my L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss with this cleansing wipe. But let’s be honest, that liquid lipstick is indestructable.

wpid-2015-09-05-12.48.12-2.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-09-05-12.48.14-1.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-09-05-12.48.14-3.jpg.jpeg

And this is the result after removing everything. I have tried this with the Rimmel Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation, which we all know is thick as merde, and it doesn’t have any problem removing that. I used both sides, without any problem or stringing. One sheet is enough to take of all the gunk off my face. Also nice to note that it doesn’t irritate my skin and it gives my skin a glow, without that sticky feeling.

I still wash my face after using this to remove whatever makeup I have on, mainly because I like my face to be squeaky clean.

Price: PhP 378 for 50 sheets / PhP 128 for 15 sheets
Where to buy: At any Tony Moly stores
Rating: 5 / 5
Purge or keep: Definitely a keep! This is more affordable at PhP 7.56 per sheet, compares to the Neutrogena towelettes that are PhP 19.20 per sheet.
Verdict: The best “household help” that you can get in the market.

Products used:

Jordana Creamy Liquid Foundation in Warm Beige
Maybelline White Super Fresh Powder Foundation in Nude Beige
Suesh corrector and concealer pots in green, red, and yellow
Etude House Drawing Eye Brow in #2 Grey Brown
Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil in Black Fever
Revlon Custom Eyes Mascara in Length and Drama mode
Naked contouring palette
Makeup Revolution Redemption Palette Naked as lid wash, Buck on the crease
BYS Matte Lipstick in Reddy Set Go

2 thoughts on “Makeup Stash: Tony Moly Blast Fresh Cleansing Tissue

  1. You blog is really fun and creative. I love your style and how you write your post too btw. You should definitely check out my blog too! I do mainly fashion/advice post, I think you’d like it 😊

Leave a Reply

